Pros champ bizarrely mishits — and a newer rule known as on

Bernhard Langer on Friday because of his third shot upon the 9th hole at Gleneagles.

myspace. com

Bernhard Langer was not penalized. An update from the rules of golf closed him there.  

But he could not only duck awkwardness.

“Well, the dreaded two-chip, ” analyst Gary Koch said of Langer’s dreaded two-chip, caught on your Golf Channel’s broadcast of most Friday’s Senior Open following that round.  

Of course , a person supposed to one-chip, and that was the two-time Masters champ’s thought after hitting your third shot on Gleneagles’ par-4 9th from exclusively off the back of the green. He then hit the ball thanks, the second time as it was start to move forward and he was launching his follow-through. From in 60 feet from the flag, the ball kicked to be able to Langer’s left, and he appeared to be to left with about a 40-footer for par.  

So … what happened?

“He’s trying to lob the ball over where it little ridge in front while gets a little flip of a hands and the clubhead takes out there and catches our own ball for a double whacked, ” Koch said on a broadcast.  

But , as noted ahead of, Langer was not hit by a penalty, thanks to a trumps change in 2019. Rule 10. 1a now states : “If the player’s club by mistake hits the ball over and over again, there has been only one stroke and no penalty; ” earlier in this article Langer would have been penalized a stroke.  

And why was the change made? On their website, the USGA wrote : “Where a fabulous double hit occurs with regard to a single stroke and wasn’t the intention of the audio device, it was felt unfair and preventable for the player to be reprimanded. Just as there is no penalty if your player’s ball accidentally deflects off his or her body, items or caddie, there is no need for a penalty when a player unexpectedly strikes his or her own glass ball in making a stroke. ”

Bernhard Langer

‘Sauerkraut combined with sausages’: Bernhard Langer provides *best* reason for his lastingness

By: Nick Piastowski

On the broadcast, Koch attained another thought.  

“The good news is definitely, under the rules change reverse a couple of years ago, no longer a problem, ” he said. “And I could see why because I have never seen a seeing that hit that ended up international locations better position, that’s obviously. ”

From that country, Langer bogeyed, but strategy for three-under over his terminal nine holes for a two-under 68 overall, and he is three shots back of alpha dog Darren Clarke .  

He had recovered great, though these things can scar tissue.  

“What that does — we are all golfers here and after that professional — it undoubtedly knocks the stuffing not in you emotionally when you do like that, ” said Paul McGinley , who joined this particular broadcast after his secondly round.    

Golf Magazine

Subscribe To The Interesting


Best In Instruction

Nick Piastowski

Computer chip Piastowski

Golf. com Editor tool

Nick Piastowski is a Senior Editor towards Golf. com and The game Magazine. In his role, he is responsible for editing, writing and as well as developing stories across the play golf space. And when he’s not ever writing about ways to hit the type of golf ball farther and more straight, the Milwaukee native is more than likely playing the game, hitting the glass ball left, right and more detailed, and drinking a cold ale and wine to wash away his grab. You can reach out to him which involves any of these topics — the woman stories, his game or a his beers — through nick. piastowski@golf. com.