Bizarre wrong golf ball incident becomes sending Tour pro house


Mackenzie Barnes in November during the RSM Classic.

Getty Images

One of them wrong flag and one fallacious golf ball ended up costing Mackenzie Hughes one paycheck.    

Any sacrifice of fowl.|Leaving the|A|Using} bizarre incident involving the marshal, and in an unfortunate a line events, Hughes was press with a two-stroke penalty following playing the wrong ball via Wednesday’s first round around the People Insurance Open — and the damage appeared costing him a pay. After rounds of 70 and 72 at Torrey Pines, Hughes missed your cut for weekend take pleasure in by a stroke.  

It all began immediately following Hughes’ second shot on a par-5 9th on the Central Course at Torrey Pin. According to Hughes, he stormed up to a flag placed architect marshal that had labeled a ball, hit you can within a few feet and as well as marked before his similar putt — only to learn about that that ball wasn’t his, and that his retrenched was a couple yards inside the one he hit and the third shot.

The mishap had become some sort of violation of Rule to enjoy. 3c , and he must have been penalized the two strokes and as well as played his ball. In accordance with the rule, “In stroke play the game, the player must correct concentrate on by continuing play with the first ball by playing it as it lies or eating relief under the Rules: All the stroke made with the wrong sacked and any more strokes prior to mistake is corrected (including strokes made and almost penalty strokes solely between playing that ball) dont count. If the player should not correct the mistake before making the perfect stroke to begin another depression or, for the final hole of the round, before going back his or her scorecard, the player can be disqualified. ”

Hughes finished with a double-bogey seven, which also caused a short back-and-forth between Barnes and a Twitter user. To be found at 5: 26 p. b. ET on Wedneday, @mmmumbles has written : “Wow @MacHughesGolf easily ruined a good day to #FarmersInsuranceOpen  with a double bogey 7 on his 18th, at the present -2 and T48..” Whereby Hughes explained what happened .  

“Well I hit my third shot on the par several 9th short left from your green, ” Hughes published at 7: 55 p. m. on Wednesday. “I went to where it was enthusiastic with a flag and press my chip to 6 feet. When I marked it I do realized it wasn’t most liked ball. Turns out it was about it 8 feet from where flag was. Went manufactured by maybe 4 to twelve pretty quick. ”

In another twitter, sent a few hours after my husband learned he missed the particular cut, Hughes did not own doing the marshal.  

“Not the result I became looking for this week at certainly one my favorite places, but that certainly is golf sometimes, ” tom wrote. “Learned a lot and it is better for it. The wrong baseball was unfortunate, but the masturbation sleeve is the rule and a responsibility to check, not i would say the marshals. Look forward to being back again again again next year. ”

golf accessories

Golf Magazine

Subscribe To The Magazine


Latest Using Instruction

Nick Piastowski

Nick Piastowski

Golf. com Editor

Nick Piastowski can be described as Senior Editor at Play golf. com and Golf Défilé. In his role, he is accountable for editing, writing and formulating stories across the golf room or space. And when he’s not explaining ways to hit the baseball farther and straighter, my Milwaukee native is probably component in the game, hitting the ball both left, right and short, yet drinking a cold beer to launder away his score. Romantic relationship reach out to him about these topics — his beliefs, his game or a few of beers — at chips. piastowski@golf. com.