Simple rules Guy: How should you exceptional your score if you color the last few holes by yourself?

Can you still deliver your score if you bet on the final holes alone?

Getty Files

The  Ideas of Golf  are very difficult! Thankfully, we’ve got most of the guru. Our  Rules Guy  knows generally the book front to back . Having a question? He’s got on the answers.

I recently won a trustworthy match 3 and 2 . not We were a twosome, and as my opponent didn’t looking to play the remaining two divots I continued alone. Surprisingly made a birdie with a bogey for  an forty. In the Rules of Handicapping, Rule 2 . 1, yet , an acceptable  score to be able to played in the company of at least one many other player. I had played all of the minimum of 14 holes single Rule 2 . 2a, and so applying a net-par standing would result in bogey, bogey for an 82. Which standing should be posted? — A2z tony Barra, Northville, Mich.

We feel you implicitly, Tony.

Alas, as you signify, given the absence of anyone to attest your score after played the last two loopholes, you should record the lots of net par for handicap purposes.

(For the uninitiated, net dúo is equal to the en of the hole plus a lot of handicap strokes received as a result of player based on the Course Handicap. )

Bought you played those divots with anyone present, even though match had already came to an end, you would have been expected to driving report your actual scores.

When in doubt about the acceptability of a score, it is the perfect recommended that you check with their golf club you’re playing since with your local Allied World of golf Association.

For more score-related guidance from your guru, read on …


Rules Guy: How do we account for temporary hole closures or yardage changes onto your scorecard?

By: Rules Guy

I generally play from a set of shirts one-up from the back. There is a particular hole with an exceptional tee box from the tips och råd, however , can I move and also play from there just for any hole? Also, if other match play and unit opponent agrees to do the exact, is that okay? And ordinarily should my round still be legitimized for handicap purposes?   — Andy Wiegert, St Louis, MO

Instead of bringing ones own driver to the tips, Andy, just bring a model of camera.

Rule to get involved with. 1b requires you to participation from within the teeing area; which set of tee indicators is for your teeing land is specified by the Panel. You as a player have no the right to overrule the Panel willy-nilly, or in any a few other manner.

In your stroke-play competition, you’d see two penalty strokes towards playing from outside the teeing area and would need to great the mistake before starting another pin or be disqualified.

In a match, commercially you and your opponent wouldn’t become penalized for agreeing to spend time the wrong teeing area when you didn’t know you’re prohibited to make that switch through the process of agreement. (Now that you may have read that sentence, that certainly is no longer possible; agree to forget a rule and that your both disqualified under Reign 1 . 3b. )

As for posting a nice score, if a Course Rate and Slope Rating does not exist for a particular combination of golf tee sets being played (i. e., “Black/Blue, ” “Blue/White, ” etc . — a specific thing more courses are doing), a temporary Course Rating so Slope Rating would need to recommended and issued by the close by Allied Golf Association for your personal score to be acceptable.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Locate a custom  Green Book   from 8AM Golf belonger Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the policies Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments and rulesguy@golf. com. We predict he won’t throw the confirm at you.

Most current In Instruction

generic report image